Visiting Professors

The course is taught by FEP/cef.up own staff and by visiting lecturers. Leading scholars in their fields of research are annually invited to lecture two courses: History of Economic Thought, and Advanced Economic Analysis (AEA). Four to five different week-long intensive modules make up each annual edition of the AEA course. 

Over the years, the program benefitted from the contribution of visiting professors such as (non-exhaustive listing):



Amos Golan, American University


Antonio Ciccone (Universitat Pompeu Fabra - Trade, Institutions and Growth)


Arthur Lewbel, Boston College


Barbara Sianesi, Institute for Fiscal Studies


Barry Eichengreen (University of California, Berkeley - International Financial Architecture)


Bennett McCallum (Carnegie-Mellon University - Monetary Policy Rules)


Charles Evans (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago - Monetary and Fiscal Policy)


Charles Goodhart (London School of Economics - Central Banks)


Charles Kahn, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Daniel Ackerberg (University of California, LA - Industrial Organization and Econometrics)


Diego Puga (Universidad Carlos III-Madrid - Cities and Economic Geography)


Eytan Seshinski (Hebrew University, Jerusalem - Pension Reform and Annuity Markets)


Fatih Guvenen (University of Minnesota - Macroeconomics)


Francis Bloch, École Polytechnique, France


Gino Gancia, CREI, Barcelona GSE and CEPR


Inés Macho-Stadler (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona - Economics of Information)


Jean Gabszewicz (CORE and Université Catholique de Louvain - Network Externalities)


Juan A. Lacomba, Universidad de Granada and Francisco Lagos, University of Granada 


Kjetil Storesletten (University of Oslo - Macroeconomics and Inequality)


Luca David Opromolla, Bank of Portugal


Luca Gambetti, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona


Nuno Limão (University of Maryland - Trade Policy)


Oded Galor, Brown University


Paolo Garella, Università degli Studi di Milano


Paolo Surico, London Business School


Paul Belleflamme (Université Catholique de Louvain – CORE  and R&D and Intellectual Property), Belgium


Pedro Teles, Banco de Portugal e Universidade Católica Portuguesa   


Per Krusell (Princeton University - Macroeconomics and Inequality)


Philipp Schmidt-Dengler (London School of Economics - Empirical Methods in Applied Economics)


Pietro Peretto, Duke University


Ricardo Reis (Princeton University - Price-setting and Inflation Dynamics)


Richard Smith, CEMMAP, UCL and IFS, University of Cambridge and University of Melbourne


Rick van der Ploeg, University of Oxford


Roy Thurik, Erasmus School of Economics, Erasmus University Rotterdam


Russell Cooper (University of Texas at Austin - Dynamic Economics)


Sjak Smulders, Tilburg University


Vincenzo Quadrini (University of Southern California - Incomplete Markets and Heterogeneous Agents)